jump to navigation

Wagstaff’s Picks – Weekend of November 4, 2017 November 2, 2017

Posted by Jim Berkin in Football.
Tags:
trackback

I’m still stuck at .500 after going 4-4 last week, bringing the totals to 42-42-2. But that’ll be tough to do this week without a push in there, since I have 9 games I’m fairly confident about.

I think I will abandon making NFL picks this season. No, nothing to do with anthem protests and so forth, much more to do with the total unpredictability stemming from the amount of parity in the league this year. Any team can beat any other team on any given week, it seems (never mind the overall quality of play looking like crap compared to previous years). So while I’ll continue to follow the Patriots, I’m not going to mix NFL point spreads and the like into my stats.

Want more impressive stats? While I haven’t posted any of my NBA or NHL picks as I work on honing various screens in both of those sports, I’m 31-23 so far. I don’t plan to post those, I’m simply trying the exercise to see if it’ll be worthwhile.

This week’s picks:

Syracuse plus 5 1/2 against Florida State

Northwestern plus 1 1/2 against Nebraska

Iowa State plus 2 1/2 against West Virginia

Nevada plus 22 against Boise State

Southern Miss plus 6 1/2 against Tennessee

Tulane by 5 1/2 over Cincinnati

UAB by 10 1/2 over Rice

Fresno State by 14 over BYU

Washington State by 2 over Stanford

I also like the +210 moneyline on Southern Miss to win against Tennessee outright, but I won’t make that one part of my won/lost stats. If I were betting in Vegas, I’d also most likely take the moneylines in the Northwestern (+100) and Iowa State (+120) games instead of the spreads since I think they’ll win outright, and those spreads don’t make a lot of difference in games I don’t think will be that close.

But what the hell do I know? I’m still at .500

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

