jump to navigation

I’ve Been Adopted! August 1, 2010

Posted by Jim Berkin in General.
Tags:
trackback


By this elegant blue-eyed lady.

The poor thing was found under a house with a litter of kittens. The rescue organization kept her until the kittens were weaned & then adopted them all out. So, momma cat won the feline lottery by landing THIS patsy to become her human slave.

She doesn’t bother my allergies…. well, not TOO much anyway. Between the 24 hour Claratin & the Bioallers Pet Allergy pills, they’ve been pretty much under control, and now that kitty’s initial shyness keeps fading, she has the run of the place.

I also bought myself the greatest vacuum in the world. And don’t you worry looking at that price tag… I found a refurbished one for half that. Yay!

She’s finally learned that waking me up at 5am does NOT mean I’ll get up and play. She’s also learned that waking me up between 7-8am means she WILL be fed. And at long last, I found a type of scratching post/pad that she prefers to my couch, my bed, my carpeting and possibly my face while I sleep.

She will watch baseball on TV with me, and thankfully has not tried to attack the screen. The shoelace I tied to a plastic stick, however, must DIE.

She’s good at napping while I finish a presentable draft of the Wagstaff novel. She got off to a rough start, with a respiratory infection combined with what I figured out must have been an allergic reaction to silica dust from her cat litter. But now she’s a California kitty getting all-natural wheat litter now, man! Totally stoked! Seriously.. I can’t recommend this stuff highly enough, considering that it’s stopped her from snoring as loud as my brother did when I was a kid and keeping me up at night. Get it even if you don’t have a cat & crap in it yourself.

Anyway, that’s why I’ve been sparse in my posts lately…. been on novel writing & kitty daddy duty. And it’s all been worth it.

Comments»

1. Kudryavaya - August 11, 2010

I would like to exchange links with your site jimberkin.wordpress.com
Is this possible?

Jim Berkin - August 12, 2010

I’m not sure what “exchange links” means


Leave a Reply

