jump to navigation

A Chicken & Lentil Concoction October 10, 2008

Posted by Jim Berkin in Cooking, Food.
trackback


With all the seemingly endless sports ‘n’ football blogging I’ve been doing lately, I thought I’d provide some variety (And for those of you who don’t like variety, there’s variety… and of course, there’ll be sport.) with another recipe I improvised the other night that turned out quite well.

All the ratios here were for my single serving, eaten by me in my DESPERATE STANK PIT OF LONELINESS AND DESPAIR. But the food was yummy! So, de-Kurt Cobaining myself, I took the shotgun out of my mouth and ate some.

Cue Monty Hall and Pot #1! In Pot #1, I cooked about 1/3 cup of lentils in a little more than 1 cup of chicken broth & a little salt.

While that was simmerin’ and softenin’, in Pot #2 (the non-stick All Clad saute´pan that I got a few weeks back and have since fallen deeply in love with and yes I WILL marry it, so wipe that smirk off your face, mac) I lightly browned about a half cup of chopped onion and one chopped garlic clove in a little olive oil (use more oil if using a regular pan- Duh!) and then browned a half a boneless chicken breast cut into 1 inch cubes. Once the chicken had a brown and nearly crisp outside, I added some salt & pepper to taste, a finely chopped tomato (or use a couple of heaping tablespoons of canned), a teaspoon each of basil & oregano, and a splash of white wine. I brought it to a simmer, covered it, and let it cook for about 15-20 minutes while the lentils finished.

I strained the finished lentils, stirred them into the chicken & tomato mix, adjused the seasoning, and served the whole thing over steamed white rice (which was cooked in Pot #3! Yay!!! Now I’ll trade the entire meal for having lots of gas the next day, Monty!!!).

It was DAMN GOOD, BUBBA! And it’d also work with an Indian spice mix, subbing minced ginger for the garlic and a curry/garam masala for the basil, oregano & wine. I felt like trying a more Italian take on it. Molto bene!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

