jump to navigation

Newman’s Own September 27, 2008

Posted by Jim Berkin in Movies.
trackback

Paul Newman, my mom’s favorite movie star (Insert yenta voice “I just love his blue eyes…”) sadly died of cancer last night.

Newman made a wide swath of movies from the “Wow! Great movie!” to the “Hmmm… interesting choice” categories, and left us with memorable characters like Cool Hand Luke, Eddie Felson, Butch Cassidy, and Henry Gondorff, among others. In real life he had a rare long lasting Hollywood marriage (he even directed his wife Joanne Woodward to a Best Actress nomination), loved racing cars, and made the best bottled caesar salad dressing out there.

All the profits from that salad dressing and the other products out there like the spaghetti sauce and salsa (Sorry Paul, I make my own, but I loved ya in Slap Shot) go to various charities. I might not have shared all of the man’s politics (I’m pretty sure he didn’t want me crowned Emperor of All Space & Time), but he was a wonderful actor and an all-around good guy. He will be missed.

😦

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

