jump to navigation

Post-Defeat Traumatic Shakeout Time March 3, 2008

Posted by Jim Berkin in Football.
Tags:
trackback

nathanhale.jpg
After an amazing 18-0 run got smashed by a Superbowl loss in the final minutes, I sorta expected some serious reshuffling in the Patsies’ lineup, and they’re already lost Asante Samuel, Randall Gay and Dante Stallworth to free agency, though they’ve managed to resign Tedi Bruschi and the VERY welcome-back Randy Moss.

It’ll be an interesting draft to be sure, but I keep thinking about the 1969 Baltimore Colts… the team that took the field following their major upset against the Jets in the Superbowl, and how they went from being a 13-1 Superbowl team to an 8-5-1 second place team, before regrouping the following year to come back and win the Superbowl over the Cowboys. I’m wondering if it’ll take a season in the wilderness to purge the bitter taste of blowing Superbowl XLII before the Pats are back again, though I think they ought to win the AFC East and make the playoffs, unlike the 1969 Colts. But beyond that, who the hell knows? They might wind up having to get by the 2008 Colts, also bitter over a post-season upset.

I’m glad Moss will be back. I just hope everyone returning is patient and mentally focused on 2008 and not on 2007.

In the meantime, it’s time to think about those Yankees….

Comments»

1. ed - March 4, 2008

I’m afraid you are correct on this. Part of the problem is that next year the Pats play the NFC West and the AFC West, and due to the way the schedule works, they play at Seattle, at San Francisco, at Oakland, and at San Diego.

That’s four cross-country trips, leading to short prep weeks leading in and lost time travelling back. It’ll be real interesting to see if the league office, in an extra bit of punishment for Spygate, decides to schedule them for back-to-back West Coast trips.

And as continued punishment for losing the Super Bowl, instead of hosting the league opener at home on Thursday, September 4th against Miami or the Jets, I’m willing to bet that the league makes them open the season on the road, on Sunday night, at Indianapolis as the Colts open their new stadium.

They should still win the division, but I don’t see them going more than 11-5, probably the third seed behind Indy and Cleveland (yes, you read that right.)

2. Jim Berkin - March 4, 2008

I know I read that right, and after watching the way Cleveland played in the 2nd half last season, I think I concur.

Hmmm… the Patriots playing at San Diego…. I might have to see about attending that one in person!

Believe it or not, I’ve NEVER been to an NFL game. I was too afraid of the gangbanger a-holes as far as going to a Raiders game at the Coliseum when they were here. San Diego might be a bit more mellow, and perhaps with the right machinations, I could wangle access to a media suite… Stay Tuned!


Leave a Reply

