jump to navigation

Yet Another Reason I Hate Lawyers September 19, 2007

Posted by Jim Berkin in 1960s, Books, Television.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

batman.jpg

Today Adam West, THE ONE AND TRUE BATMAN, turns 77. Holy Happy Birthday!

This reminds me how the Batman television series from the 1960s has yet to be released on DVD due to ENDLESS legal wrangling between 20th Century Fox (producers of the TV series), Warner Brothers (owners of DC Comics & the Batman character universe), and others.

The only regular guest villain still around to do commentary tracks along with West & Burt Ward is the one-and-true “Catwoman” Julie Newmar. While Newmar has a boyfriend nearly half her age (sounds like that pussy is still purring, eh?), both she and West are in their 70s and while I don’t mean to be morbid (I obviously prefer to work blue) the clock is ticking.

If you do a simple websearch, you’ll find numerous people who are selling their own DVD collections of the series, but I assume they were all recorded off TV Land or some such entity, and therefore have been edited from their original broadcast length. Bah! I want the real deal.

CUT THE LEGAL CRAP AND PUT THE SHOW OUT, DAMMIT!

Summer 2008 Update: Good GOD, this post gets more hits than anything else on this blog and continues to do so, mostly I think because anyone looking for a picture of “Adam West as Batman” on Google lands here. So to all those Adam West fan Googlers (Adam likes being googled, at least that’s what I read in Burt Ward’s immensely entertaining sleazefest of an autobiography), Welcome! Click on some of the categories to the right & look around! I’d like to think I wrote other stuff worth looking at.

Comments»

1. Matt - February 11, 2008

I totally agree! Not to mention that with all the money the two parties could split, it’s not as if either of them would lose out by releasing something that’s just gathering dust, even if they split it 70-30, 60-40, 50-50, etc.!

2. Maxine - November 7, 2012

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll
settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site
with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Jim Berkin - November 9, 2012

If you want to “donate,” simply click on the “Books” tab up above & buy several hundred thousand copies (okay, or maybe just a few) of my novel on Amazon!


Leave a Reply

