jump to navigation

The Yardsale Travels Of Brother Wagstaff September 15, 2007

Posted by Jim Berkin in Books, Movies, Television.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

cadfael.jpg

Not much out there this week, but one sale saved it for me – someone moving to England was selling a boatload of DVDs, half of which were British television. Part of me wondered if you cannot bring British television back to Britain and that’s why they were being sold, but I guess the majority of them had simply failed the “I could watch that over and over” test that a lot of us have for buying DVDs once our houses get filled with them.

Well, at least that’s MY rule.

And passing the rule with flying heraldic colors at this sale was the wonderful find of the complete 13 episode set of Cadfael on DVD. I’d seen a couple of these on PBS, with Derek Jacobi as Brother Cadfael – the medieval monk detective – and enjoyed them a great deal. I’m looking forward to slowly savoring the rest of this set over repeated viewings accompanied by overbrewed tea and whatever chocolate I can find.

The other purchase at this very same sale was the 2-disc director’s cut of Amadeus, a movie I can certainly watch repeatedly and even more certainly listen to the rest of my life. The extras on the bonus disc, which include a making-of documentary and commentaries from Milos Forman, Peter Shaffer and Sir Neville Marriner all sound intriguing. Watch this space for an eventual review.

Comments»

1. Tigre - May 19, 2010

“I can certainly watch repeatedly and even more certainly listen to the rest of my life.”

Me too, the movie is perfect, but (IMHO) I prefer the original cut.


Leave a Reply

